Stephen Colbert Leaving Character Behind To Take Over David Letterman’s Late-Night Spot

CBS CBS -3.05% announced today that Stephen Colbert will succeedDavid Letterman when he steps down from his late night spot at the end of this year. Colbert is best known for The Colbert Report, his hit Comedy Central fake-news show where he impersonates a right-wing blowhard.

In a press release announcing the big news Colbert said:

Simply being a guest on David Letterman’s show has been a highlight of my career. I never dreamed that I would follow in his footsteps, though everyone in late night follows Dave’s lead. I’m thrilled and grateful that CBS chose me.Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go grind a gap in my front teeth.Image

[UPDATE] Colbert will be leaving his right-wing persona behind along with his Comedy Central show. As “Stephen Colbert,” the comedian made endless fun of the right while pretending to be an idiotic member of that group. It was tricky line to walk but one that Colbert did effortlessly. He even stayed in character when he interviewed his nightly guests.

